Paradise by the Baghdad Light

May 30th, 2007: White House Press Secretary Tony Snow said that President Bush thinks Iraq will develop along the lines of “a Korean model,” and defined that to mean a situation in which the United States “provides a security presence,” and serves as a “force of stability,” for “a long time.”

September 13th, 2007: President Bush calls for an “enduring relationship” with Iraq that would keep American forces there “beyond my presidency,” in a televised address to the nation.

Korea has been occupied along a demilitarized zone for a very long time. How long? Well, I was a toddler when President Eisenhower took office. Shortly after he did, active hostilities in Korea ceased, and the present occupational setup commenced.

Now, my grandparents were about the same age I am now when I was born. And my children are well into their twenties, ripe ages for military service.

Put it together and whaddaya got?

I guess what we’ve got is an “enduring relationship” in which we might see baby boomer’s great-grandchildren serving in Iraq. And we’re not talking about hostile stares across borders. What borders?

No borders, and things keep going boom on the roadside.

Military strategist Edward N. Luttwak makes the chilling point that armed hostilities tend to play themselves out unless third parties, humanitarian or otherwise, keep intervening. Don’t expect Iraq 2060 to be a hap hap happy place.

Enduring relationship — the immortal Bat Out of Hell album by Meat Loaf comes to mind, in particular the last verse of “Paradise By The Dashboard Light:”  

So now I’m praying for the end of time
To hurry up and arrive
Cause if I gotta spend another minute with you
I don’t think that I can really survive
I’ll never break my promise or forget my vow
But God only knows what I can do right now
I’m praying for the end of time
It’s all that I can do
Praying for the end of time, so I can end my time with you!!!

Leave a Reply

