Sen. Whitehouse’s on Bush Dictatorship

What a speech! Like opening remarks from a crack prosecutor, Senator Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI) unmasks the criminal hubris of the President and implicitly the spineless acquiescence of Congress. It’s a two part video, about twelve minutes in all. Well worth your coffee break.

Part One

Part Two

As  Edmund Burke is famous for saying, “All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is that good men do nothing.” And here we are, watching that aphorism being proven true.

Congress — are you listening?

AddThis social bookmarking image button

One response to “Sen. Whitehouse’s on Bush Dictatorship

  1. Patti J. Grant

    Dear Senator Whitehouse: My husband and I first heard about your speech regarding the BUSH DICTATORSHIP tonight on Countdown with Keith Olbermann, and we cheered! Those have been my exact words ever since I first read every line of the Patriot Act six years ago. I have been attempting to sound the alarm about Bush’s egregious crimes against our Constitution, but there have been many road blocks.

    My local newspaper, The Press Enterprise (Riverside CA), refused to print my letters to the editor; the Los Angeles Times pretended I was invisible, and the Washington Post wouldn’t listen either. I have lost count of the times I have been called paranoid, unpatriotic, alarmist and a God-d— liberal whenever I dared share my political concerns.

    I have also read The Military Commissions Act, The Protect America Act, and as many other acts and presidential signing statements I could find, and I find it absolutely infuriating that so few people want to listen.

    PLEASE PLEASE do not stop trying to inform the people of this nation, no matter what happens. This is critically important to the survival of our democracy. I commend you for your efforts to investigate these inexcusable acts. Someone must hold Bush et al responsible for the terrible wreckage they have made of our beautiful democracy!

    You are truly an honorable servant of the people, Senator Whitehouse. We support you in spirit now, and we will be proud to contribute financially to your next election, even though we live far from your district. Bless you for your courageous and crucial work.

    Sincerely, Patti J. Grant

Leave a Reply

