How Manly Men Respond

AddThis social bookmarking image button

In the real world , this would appear to be a non-story:

In an e-mail to the McCain campaign, Opinion Page Editor David Shipley said he could not accept the piece as written, but would be “pleased, though, to look at another draft.”

“Let me suggest an approach,” he wrote Friday. “The Obama piece worked for me because it offered new information (it appeared before his speech); while Senator Obama discussed Senator McCain, he also went into detail about his own plans. It would be terrific to have an article from Senator McCain that mirrors Senator Obama’s piece.”

In a statement released Monday, The New York Times said it is “standard procedure on our Op-Ed page, and that of other newspapers, to go back and forth with an author on his or her submission.”

I’ve had editors, and of course it is “standard procedure to go back and forth with an author on his or her submission” everywhere. I have one editor who routinely returns my submissions loaded with red ink markings and usually a note to the effect of “Terrific piece. Here are a few suggestions!”

It would seem to me that the author of Faith of My Fathers would know plenty about editors. Certainly more than I.

So why is teh nooz (i.e. CNN) all about this framing? Because the McCain campaign told them they should?

New York Times rejects McCain essay.

Why, that’s almost as bad as that wingnut wurst-mill, Newsmax:

NY Times Censors McCain Op-Ed

Huh? Rejects? Censors?

Teh nooz just wants to indulge this tantrum, I guess. Even Dan Abrams is calling the while flap “a win for McCain” because he gets to pick on the NY Times.

After all, we’re talking about a bona fide war hero here, a manly man among manly men. And he has this macho thing to say:

Waaahhh waaahhh waaaaahhh. That librul old NY Times likes the other guy best. No fair!! Waaahhh. Fight my battles for me, CNN. C’mon you guys! Beat up that mean old NY Times like you did when they wrote about Vicki Iseman.  I want to say what I want to say my way and. I. want. to. do. it. NOW!

So to the barricades, teh nooz! There’s a damsel manly man in distress. Editors scare him. Either that, or Dan Abrams is right. Kind of.

The McCain campaign’s one remaining defining characteristic is its preference for cheap shots. A “win” is when they can land one.

You can read McCain’s draft here.

Yep. Needs work I’d say.

Leave a Reply

